Liverpool High School

Liverpool High School Annex


What is the NCAA?

The NCAA, or National Collegiate Athletic Association, was established in 1906 and serves as the athletics governing body for more than 1,300 colleges, universities, conferences and organizations. The national office is in Indianapolis, Indiana, but the member colleges and universities develop the rules and guidelines for athletics eligibility and athletics competition for each of the three NCAA divisions. The NCAA is committed to the student-athlete and to governing competition in a fair, safe, inclusive and sportsmanlike manner.

The NCAA membership includes:

  • 346 active Division I members;
  • 291 active Division II members; and
  • 439 active Division III members.

One of the differences among the three divisions is that colleges and universities in Divisions I and II may offer athletics scholarships, while Division III colleges and universities do not. For more information about the NCAA or its members, please visit

The NCAA's 'Guide for the College-Bound Student-Athlete' suggests students register at the beginning of their Sophomore year. To register with the Eligibility Center click here.

To view the NCAA's 'Guide for the College-Bound Student-Athlete' click on the PDF below.

Related Files
pdf NCAA Guide to College-Bound Student-Athletes pdf 4.1 MB